Day 29

365 Days of My

Well Little Miss stayed home today, her tonsils are still swollen but her fever broke in the night.  I’m keeping her home tomorrow as well.. there’s more Ninjago to watch and popsicles to eat!

d29

Snuggled under her new found blankie watching Ninjago. Normally she would be high kicking along side the television. This is how I know the Missus is sick.

365 Days of Truth, Confessions of a Mad Woman

When I was fourteen I started grade nine. I was hoping for a fresh start, something new and exciting from the Hel of primary school. I should have known better, it took one day for all the same bullpoop to start again. I was constantly bullied about my clothing, my lazy eye, being in the learning disability Unit, being plump… I remember by my second week at high school I wanted to dropout.

Instead… I fell in with the wrong crowd. River Phoenix posters were replaced with Sid Vicious. I began to withdraw and become very angry. My clothing went to dark colours and thrown together with little care. I stopped showering and caring for my body. I began smoking cigarettes. I began smoking pot. I took acid. I got in fights…

And after only three weeks in High school, I began cutting.

When I cut myself, I felt my stress and sadness bleed out.  In the beginning it was just a few nicks here and there. By the end, I was cutting from my knuckles to my shoulder blades.  Lines, circles, band names, you name it and I cut it into my skin.

I really can not tell you why I started. I had never seen anyone else do it, I hadn’t seen it on television. It really was one day my razor split and I pulled out a blade. I looked at it and I had an urge to cut. So I did. My cutting lasted for a few months, then I just stopped as suddenly as I started.  I cut myself many time after this first episode, but I can thankfully say I have been cut free now for 15 years.

Information on Cutting can be found at:
http://kidshealth.org/teen/your_mind/mental_health/cutting.html
http://www.helpguide.org/mental/self_injury.htm
http://www.webmd.com/mental-health/features/cutting-self-harm-signs-treatment
http://www.cmha.ca/mental_health/youth-and-self-injury/#.UunMRjeUT1A
‘One study of Canadian youth found that almost 2 out of every 10 youth aged 14-21 had hurt themselves on purpose at one time or another. Self-injury behaviours usually start between 13 and 15 years of age, and happen most often in teenagers and young adults. Self-harm behaviours are twice as common in girls and young women, compared to males.’
Found on the CHEO – Self Harm website: http://www.cheo.on.ca/en/self-harm

365 Days of Healthy Living

Yummy Noodle Alternatives: Taking all grains out of your life can be hard especially if your of a lower income bracket like myself. Removing gluten and grains removes pasta and rice, which are both cheap quick meals.  Although as I found in my quest to yet again enjoy spaghetti there are plenty of noodle replacement ideas.

I have tried many vegetable replacements. The ones my daughter has been most receptive to is: Spaghetti Squash and zucchini.  Spaghetti Squash can easily be turned into it’s namesake and is rather yummy!! Zucchini depending on how you cut it can be turned into lasagna noodles, fettuccine noodle and with some finesse ravioli pockets. Although the last one needs cheese to hold it together but is super yummy!! Although lately I have been looking for something that is more of a pasta texture and so I have turned to nut flours.

Here are some of my finds:
38 Suggestions on Using Vegetables as Noodles. http://paleogrubs.com/pasta-recipes
Non-Gluten/Grain Pasta Recipe: http://www.paleocupboard.com/paleo-pasta.html
And now for some bedtime humor…

Until Tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

